Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS
 
 
 

Friends of Music Concert Season Debuts with the Two Rivers Chamber Orchestra

August 3, 2012
Shepherdstown Chronicle

Friends of Music (FOM) launches a much anticipated 2012 - 2013 season with a performance by the Two Rivers Chamber Orchestra on Saturday, Sept. 15 at 8 p.m. Guest Conductor Jed Gaylin will be at the podium in the Frank Arts Center at Shepherd University.

Gaylin is widely known as the Music Director of the Bay Atlantic Symphony, Principal Guest Conductor of the National Radio and Film Philharmonic, Principal Conductor of the Cape May Music Festival and Music Director of the Johns Hopkins Symphony Orchestra.

"We are all in for a treat when the Two Rivers Chamber Orchestra performs on Sept. 15," said FOM president, Neal Barkus. "Our Guest Conductor, Jed Gaylin, has selected a fantastic program of music composed by Cowell, Milhaud and Mozart. We are anxious to see a conductor as accomplished as Jed lead our Orchestra. Get your tickets now, because this will be a sell-out."

Article Photos

From left sitting are Joan Ergin, Alice Barkus, Dolores Lowe. Standing are Joelle Serot, Erdem Ergin and Elisabeth Staro. All are Friends of Music.

2012 -2013 Friends of Music Concert Calendar

Two Rivers Chamber Orchestra - Saturday, Sept. 15, 8 p.m.

Caroline Hong - Friday, October 12, 8 p.m.

Georgia Guitar Quartet - Tuesday, Nov. 6, 8 p.m.

Masterworks Chorale Saturday, Nov. 10, 8 p.m. -St. James Catholic Church

Masterworks Chorale - Sunday, Nov. 11, 7 p.m. - Frank Center

Annual Holiday Gala - Saturday, Dec. 1, 7:30 p.m.

Holiday Gala Reception, immediately following concert, Cress Creek Country Club

Annual Holiday Gala - Sunday, Dec. 2, 3 p.m.

The Merling Trio, Saturday Feb. 23, 8 p.m.

Jazz Festival Concert with Anat Cohen - Saturday, March 2, 8 p.m.

Two Rivers Chamber Orchestra - Saturday, March 9, 8 p.m.

The Lee Konitz New Quartet - Thursday, March 28, 8 p.m.

Masterworks Chorale - Saturday, April 13, 8 p.m. - St. James Catholic Church

Masterworks Chorale - Sunday, April 14, 7 p.m.

BONUS CONCERT: The 5 Browns - Wednesday, April 10, 8 p.m. (not included in subscription)

Unless otherwise noted all concerts will be performed at the Frank Center.

 
 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web