homepage logo

Candidate filing window closes

By Staff | Feb 5, 2010

The 2010 state and county candidate filing period drew to a close on Jan. 30, setting the stage for the West Virginia primary elections on May 11 and the general election on Nov. 2.

Four people have filed to run for House of Delegates 57th district seat currently held by incumbent Delegate John Doyle, D-Jefferson. Facing Doyle in the Democratic primary election is Shepherdstown resident Lori Rea. Two Republicans have also filed to run for the 57th District, Shepherdstown resident Donny Jones and Harpers Ferry resident Elliot Simon. The 57th district encompasses northern Jefferson County, including Harpers Ferry, Shepherdstown and Shenandoah Junction.

– – –

Republican Eric L. Householder will run against incumbent Terry Walker, D-Jefferson, for the 56th District seat, which encompasses south-western Jefferson County.

Incumbent Delegate Tiffany Lawrence, D-Jefferson, is running un-opposed in the 58th district, which encompassing south-eastern Jefferson County.

Incumbent Sen. John Unger, D-Berkeley, whose 16th Senate district encompasses all of Jefferson County and most of Berkley County, will face Democrat Patrick Hale Murphy in the primary election. The winner of that race will face 52nd district Delegate Craig Blair, R-Berkeley, in the primary election. Sen. Herb Snyder, D-Jefferson, who also represents the 16th Senate district is not up for election this year.

– – –

Turning to Congressional political races, Charles Town resident Virginia Lynch Graf will run against five-term incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Shelley Moore Capito in the 2nd Congressional District, which encompasses all of Jefferson, Berkeley and Morgan counties before turning slightly to the south, where it then stretches west all the way to the Ohio River, encompassing the city of Charleston as well.

On the County Commission, incumbent Democrat Jim Surkamp is in a three-way primary race against Ruth McQuade and Paul Taylor for his seat. The winner of that primary will go on to face Republican Walt Pellish in the general election. Incumbent county commissioner Dale Manuel is running unopposed for his Charles Town seat. Only two of the five county commission seats, Charles Town and Shepherdstown, are up for election this year.

– A full list of candidates for state and federal office can be seen on the web page of the West Virginia Secretary of State at www.sos.wv.gov.