homepage logo

Senate Ballot Drawing Set

By Staff | Jul 23, 2010

Charleston, W.Va. The ballot position drawing for the United States Senate Special Primary will be Saturday, July 24 at 5:30 PM. The drawing will be open to the public, media, and candidates. Secretary of State Natalie E. Tennant will be drawing the candidate names at random. She will be joined by County Clerks Vera McCormick (R-Kanawha), Jeff Waybright (R-Jackson), Karen Cole (D-Cabell), and Sue Morgan (D-Pleasants).

The special primary election to fill the unexpired term left vacant following the death of Senator Robert C. Byrd is set for Saturday, August 28, 2010. Polls will be open from 6:30 AM to 7:30 PM on August 28. Early voting will be held from Friday, August 20 to Wednesday, August 25. There will be no early voting on Sunday, August 22. The general election for this office will take place with the normally scheduled November 2, 2010 election.