homepage logo

Fire department hosts its annual banquet

By Staff | Mar 25, 2011

The Shepherdstown Volunteer Fire Department held its Annual Recognition and Awards Banquet this past Saturday, March 19, at the local fire house to recognize those who do so much for their station and the community.

The focus of the evening was on those men and women who showed outstanding service and accomplishments this past year.

Awards included first responders, members’ choice, outstanding service, junior department, fundraising and supporters, fire chief’s award, EMS chief’s award and president’s award, and special acknowledgements were made for volunteers who contributed to the fire department.

Outstanding service awards were also given out by Treasurer Dennis Barron to members who have been with the department for many years. Fire department 3rd Lt. Jayson Moore and EMS Capt. Bob Burner were given the five years of service award; EMS Assistant Chief Leslie Simpson was given the 20 years of service award, and fire department 2nd Lt. Zac Morgan was given the 25 years of service award.

Libby Nester, the department’s administration secretary, was given the outstanding fundraiser award and an award from Burner for her longtime support of the entire department.

“Libby goes above and beyond with volunteering at all of our fundraising events, especially our apple butter fundraiser,” said Barron, who presented her with the award.

In 2010, the fire department was able to raise $93,500 from fundraisers such as its apple butter festival and golf tournament, which were its most profitable events.

“(Libby) is on more committees than anyone else and is an asset to the department,” Burner said.

A guest speaker from the Sharpsburg Fire Department also spoke at the ceremony, commending the Shepherdstown Fire Department for its willingness to help other surrounding departments in times of need.

To conclude the awards portion of the evening, all new officers from the administration, fire department and EMS team stood together to take the Oath of Office as a formal transition into the new year.