homepage logo

McMurran Scholars announced

By Staff | Apr 29, 2011

Sixteen Shepherd University students will be named McMurran Scholars at a convocation today, April 29 at 3:30 p.m. at the Frank Center Theater.

Honored as McMurran Scholars will be Kaitlyn Baird, David Canada, Katherine Cooper, Edward Cope, Jessica Fancher, Laura Fernett, Zachary Grimes, Sara Hall, Heather McSharry, Kathryn G. Morris, Lindsay Pittington, Amanda Rust, Brett Shaffer, Austin Showen, Aaron Stenta and Elizabeth Tyson.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the creation of Shepherd’s highest academic honor, named in honor of the university’s first president, Joseph McMurran. The award was conceived in 1961 by Professor Kenneth Riley, who served on the first honors sommittee, along with Librarian John Main and Dean of Students O. L. Harry. Three members of the inaugural class – Sandra Osbourn, class of 1962; Garland H. Ott, class of 1962; and Nicholas J. Pappas, class of 1963 – will be honored during the program.

The convocation address will be given by Jerry Thomas, professor emeritus of history, as part of Shepherd’s annual Last Lecture. Series.

To be selected as a McMurran Scholar, a student must complete a minimum of 92 semester hours, maintain a minimum 3.86 grade point average, complete two consecutive semesters of study at Shepherd, and be nominated by at least three faculty members. Nominees must then be approved by the entire Shepherd University faculty.

Former McMurran Scholars from the last 50 years will be honored at a post-convocation dinner sponsored by the Shepherd University Foundation and the newly formed McMurran Scholars Association. The Association promotes and honors scholarly inquiry and academic excellence and provides mentoring to current Shepherd students.