homepage logo

Shepherd football lands on football magazine poll

By Staff | Jun 13, 2011

Shepherd University has been picked fourth in the 2011 Lindy’s Football magazine Division II Preseason poll. Lindy’s also named senior running back Tommy Addison (Germantown, Md./Quince Orchard) and junior defensive back Keon Robinson (Fairfax Station, Va./Lake Braddock) First Team Preseason Division II All-Americans.

Addison led the Shepherd ground attack last season as he rushed 239 times for 1,670 yards and 19 touchdowns. He added seven receptions for 60 yards. Addison rushed for 100 yards or more in nine games.

Robinson recorded 10 interceptions last year, including two that were returned for touchdowns. His 10 interceptions are the most in NCAA II in 2010, while his .71 average ranked him fourth nationally. He also had 16 kickoff returns for a 21.0 average and nine punt returns for a 9.7 average. Robinson was sixth on the team in tackles with 65 with a team-best 59 solo tackles. He added 11 pass breakups, three forced fumbles, and a fumble recovery.

Lindy’s Division II Preseason Top 25:

1. Minnesota-Duluth

2. Delta State

3. Abilene Christian

4. Shepherd

5. Northwest Missouri

6. Augustana

7. Texas A&M-Kingsville

8. Grand Valley State

9. Bloomsburg

10. Kutztown

11. Mercyhurst

12. St. Cloud State

13. North Alabama

14. Albany State

15. Colorado Mines

16. Wingate

17. Hillsdale

18. Central Missouri

19. West Texas A&M

20. Valdosta State

21. Tusculum

22. Wayne State (Mich.)

23. California (Pa.)

24. Pittsburg State

25. Nebraska-Kearney

Lindy’s Division II Preseason All-America:

First Team Offense

QB Bo Cordell – Tusculum

RB Franklyn Quiteh – Bloomsburg

RB Tommy Addison – Shepherd

WR Deonte’ Gist – Tusculum

WR Thomas Mayo – Concord (Now at D1 Cal)

TE Kyle Kilgore – NW Missouri

OL Kyle Thornton – North Alabama

OL Dan Matha – Indiana (Pa.)

OL Amini Silatolu – Midwestern State

OL Matt Webber – Abilene Christian

OL Larry Wriedt – West Liberty

AP Josh Renel – Wayne State (Mich.)

K Dan Fisher – Bloomsburg

First Team Defense:

DL Armonty Bryant – East Central

DL Jonas Celian – West Virginia Wesleyan (Left team)

DL Joseph Collard – Tiffin

DL Richard Daniel – Wayne State (Neb.)

LB Shaquil Barrett – Nebraska-Omaha (No football and D1)

LB Nate Dreiling – Pittsburg State

LB Tony Johnson – Merrimack

DB Zac Kallas – Augustana

DB David Lopez – Pace

DB Keon Robinson – Shepherd

DB Greg Underwood – Fairmont State

P Ronnie Partridge – Stillman

Second Team Offense:

QB Chase Vogler – Minnesota-Duluth

RB Jonas Randolph – Mars Hill

RB Akeem Satterfield – Slippery Rock

WR Taylor Gabriel – Abilene Christian

WR Jake Soy – NW Missouri

TE Austin Wells – Nebraska-Omaha (No football and D1)

OL Brian Folkerts – Washburn

OL Joe Long – Wayne State (Mich.)

OL Daron Rose – North Alabama

OL Jason Slowey – Western Oregon

AP Jordan Simmons – NW Missouri

K Michael Ziola – Chadron State

Second Team Defense:

DL Arterio Arnold – Newberry

DL Zach Moore – Concordia St. Paul

DL Todd Storm – Michigan Tech

DL Johnny Tivao – Texas A&M-Kingsville

LB Timothy Durant – Virginia State

LB Shawn Loiseau – Merrimack

LB Nick McGahagan – Seton Hill

DB Desmond Anderson – New Haven

DB Stan Langlow – Central Washington

DB Shaquille Shedd – Southwest Baptist

DB Chas Smith – Pittsburg State

P Taylor Accardi – Colorado Mines

MVP – Bo Cordell, QB, Tusculum

Offensive POTY – Franklyn Quiteh, RB, Bloomsburg

Defensive POTY – Nate Dreiling, LB, Pittsburg State

Newcomer of the Year – Robbie Frey, RB, Kutztown