homepage logo

Shepherd students receive recognition

By Staff | Apr 27, 2018

Friends, family, faculty and staff gathered in the Frank Center at Shepherd University for the 70th annual Student Recognition Ceremony on April, 17.

Tom Segar, vice president of student affairs, kicked off the ceremony with an anecdote about silencing cellphones, which was interrupted by a ringing cellphone.

“Don’t worry, I won’t dock that from your final grade,” he joked.

He then introduced the presenters of each award, which included, Dow Benedict, dean of the College of Arts and Humanities; Benjamin Martz, dean of the College of Business; Stacey Kendig, co-dean of the College of Education and Professional studies; Robert Warburton, acting dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; and Ann Marie Legreid, dean of the College of Social and Behavioral sciences.

The academic awards, class scholarship awards and students of distinction awards were presented by Scott Beard, acting provost. Segar presented the student leadership awards.

“It is an honor to not only present these awards to these students, but to know how hard they have worked personally as leaders in their respected organizations,” said Segar.

The Mentzer Award for Inspirational teaching was presented to Stephanie Slocum-Schaffer, associate professor of political science. The award was presented by Susan Mentzer-Blair and her husband, William Blair, as well as Spencer VanHoose, the student who nominated Slocum-Schaffer. The $1,000 award goes to a full-time professor recognized for being particularly inspiring and having a profound effect on his or her students.

The Lowe Family Award, which is given for outstanding service to the university and high academic achievement, went to Morgan Breeden, of Summit Point. The award is funded by the Lowe family of Shepherdstown.

The Oliver S. Ikenberry Distinguished Human Services award was presented by Jane Ikenberry and awarded to Taylor Bird, a social work major from Charleston, and Da’Shawn Long, an R.B.A. student from Winchester, Virginia. The $250 cash award goes to one female and one male graduating student for exemplary human service to Shepherd as evidenced by campus leadership, community service and overall achievement.