homepage logo

Back to the ballots: Jefferson County completes election canvass

By Staff | Jun 19, 2020

County commissioners spent a full day convened as a canvassing board for the June 9 Primary Election on Monday. Toni Milbourne

CHARLES TOWN-After a day-long effort to tally more than 771 additional votes, the Jefferson County Commission released updated numbers from the June 9 Primary Election Monday evening.

Commissioners, along with staff from the County Clerk’s elections office, painstakingly worked their way through each precinct, voting to accept or reject provisional ballots from election day.

Commissioners voted to accept 119 provisional ballots while rejecting 26 ballots received from the voting precincts. For the most part, reasons for rejecting ballots ranged from the voter not being registered to the voter voting outside of their precinct, outside of their party or not in the correct county.

The majority of approved provisional ballots were those where voters initially requested absentee ballots yet chose to vote in person instead.

In addition to the precinct ballots, the Commission also accepted 652 total absentee ballots while denying 58. Of those 58, 56 of them were received without a postmark. Chief Elections Deputy Nikki Painter informed commissioners that ballots can be accepted up to the day after the election without a postmark; however, after that time, they should not be accepted.

With the additions at canvass, the total votes cast in the county increased from 11,604 to 12,472 or 30.26 percent of registered voters.

While some races had been close, no local race results changed with the canvassing.

In County Commission races, Tricia Jackson defeated Gary Cogle on the Republican ballot with a total of 2,288 votes to his 2,086. Jackson will face incumbent Democrat Ralph Lorenzetti in November, while Republican Steve Stolipher will challenge Democrat Lanae Johnson, all of whom ran unopposed in the primary.

In the county race for sheriff, Tom Hansen saw victory over Steve Harris on the Republican ticket. Hansen finished with 2,184 votes to Harris’ 2,106. Hansen will face Democrat Mike Chapman and Independent candidates Steve Cox and John King in November.

Victorious candidates for three magistrate seats were confirmed, with Carmela Cesare receiving 5,432 votes in division one compared to Kristen Vogel with 3,224 and Danesia Chicchirichi who received 2,714 votes. Vicki D’Angelo ran unopposed in division two. In division three, incumbent Arthena Roper finished strong with 5,695 votes, compared to Holly Silveous with 3,810 and Osmund Anderson with 1,535.

Board of Education seats went to incumbent Mark Osbourn, with 4,166 votes; Donna Joy, with 3,820; and incumbent Gary Kable, with 3,435 votes.

Since Kable had indicated prior to the election he would be retiring from the board due to health reasons, it is unclear if he will take the seat. Painter explained that since Kable did not officially withdraw from the election, if he declines the seat or resigns from the board, it will be up to the Board of Education to appoint a new member who will hold the seat until the next election. Painter indicated there is an approximate 80-day timeframe that would allow the seat to be placed on the November ballot.

Totals for races other than on the local level were completed for Jefferson County; however, other counties are continuing their canvassing so those results will not be final until all votes are counted.