homepage logo

Fire Department honors its own

By Staff | Mar 23, 2012

Receiving recognition as fire officer top responders were Brian Fluharty with 78 calls, Zach Morgan with 74 calls and Chief Ross Morgan who ran 110 fire calls in 2011.

Shepherdstown Fire Department took time to recognize the service of their fire and Emergency Medical Service providers at their annual banquet Saturday evening. Following a delicious meal provided by Betty’s Restaurant, members and community volunteers were honored.

Starting off the night was the crowning of Honorary Fire Chief Jessica Schmitt who will represent the company in a variety of events in the coming year.

Top responders were recognized on both the fire and ambulance side of the company’s service with the top responders receiving plaques for their outstanding work. Topping out with the most fire calls was Cory Beverage who ran a total of 161 calls in 2011. Close behind was Chris Woynicz with 149 and Daniel Henderson with 130 calls. EMS responders topping out the list for most calls included John Grove with 299 calls, Daniel Henderson with 191 and Ryan Rudy with 184 calls answered in 2011.

Member’s Choice Awards were presented to those officers the entire membership selected with a vote. Top administrative officer was Bob Burner while Monte Conner and Brian Fluharty took the top spots on the EMS and fire officer side respectively.

Department Treasurer Denny Barron recognized the local Trinity House Thrift Shop for their continued support of Company 3. The thrift shop, which donates all of its proceeds to charitable organizations, has supported the fire department financially for over 20 years, Barron said.

Top responders for fire awards included Chris Woynicz with 149 calls, Cory Beverage with 161 calls and Daniel Henderson with 130 calls. Also recognized but not in attendance was Andy Tarbell with 102 calls.

Jim Locke was named outstanding fundraiser for the company while the outstanding support member award was given to Barb Sheppard. Also recognized during Saturday’s event was Emma Locke who was awarded Honorary Life Membership in the company. Mrs. Locke has volunteered with the company without being a member for over 10 years. She has sent approximately 10,000 personal thank you letters over that time.

“I can do these things because I can do them at home,” Locke said. “And I absolutely love it.”

Rounding out the evening, Jennifer Jones was named Rookie of the Year for 2011 while Craig “Twiggy” Simpson scored the President’s Award for the year.

Members of the Daughters of the American Revolution chapter presented the Shepherdstown Fire Department with a 9-11 flag.

Steve Holmes was recognized for 35 years of dedicated service to the Shepherdstown Fire Department.

Nick Agnew was selected by Chief Ross Morgan to receive the 2011 Chief’s Award during the annual banquet.