homepage logo

Shepherdstown Rotary Club Announces Two Paul Harris Awards

By Staff | Apr 13, 2012

Submitted photos

The Rotary Club of Shepherdstown WV recently announced two Paul Harris Awards.

One award was presented to Doug Alexander. Alexander is a 14-year member who has long been very active in club activities. He is the only member who has served twice as president, once in 1999 and again in 2009. This is his second Paul Harris Award. He is shown below with Rotarian Tom Trumble. The other award was presented to Peter Smith, who joined the club in 2006. Smith is a two-term president of the local Audubon Society and has played a major role in planning the town of Shepherdstown’s 250th anniversary celebrations, which are taking place this year. Smith is shown above with Gary Heichel. The Paul Harris Award is the Shepherdstown Rotary Club’s highest award. It is named for the individual who founded Rotary International in 1905, Paul Percy Harris (1868-1947). The Shepherdstown Club periodically bestows this award on club and community members who exemplify the Rotary motto of “Service Above Self.” The club makes a $1,000 contribution from its own funds to the International Rotary organization’s charitable foundation on each awardee’s behalf.