homepage logo

Ryan Film Institute elects Board of Directors

By Staff | May 25, 2012

The Board of Directors of Ryan Film Institute announces election of officers at its annual meeting, according to Founder Katherine Walsh Ryan. Ryan Film Institute’s Executive Committee is comprised of: President – Katherine Walsh Ryan, President, Ryan Consulting Services; Vice President – Claiborne B. Lashley, Owner, Bright Guys Film & Video; Recording Secretary – Rachel Ritterbusch, Ph.D, Chair, Dept. of English and Modern Languages, Shepherd University; Treasurer – Floyd “Kin” Sayre, J.D., MBA, Partner, Bowles Rice McDavid Graff & Love; and, Corresponding Secretary – Elizabeth “Layne” Diehl, J.D., CEO/Managing Member, Diehl Law

At-large board members include: Shelley Nichols-Franklin, executive director, Miss Berkeley County/Miss North Eastern Scholarship Pageant; Cynthia “Susie” Sayre, costumer, Brier Rose Studios; and Jason Alexander Smith, president and executive producer, Northward Advance.

Ryan Film Institute is launching its sixth year of Young Filmmakers’ Workshops, now held at Shepherd University. Courses feature hands-on training on the latest gear, opportunities to work with industry pros, and the ability to create short films, documentaries, commercials and digital photographs.

Workshops are filled on a first-come, first-served basis; and run 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, during June and July for ages 12-22. A Student Short Film Fest with People’s Choice Awards showcases student projects. Students are not discriminated against based on race, creed, beliefs or national origin. All forms for registration and scholarship applications are available at www.RyanFilmInstitute.org.

The West Virginia Film Office donates to Ryan Film Institute’s Scholarship program because RFI conducts the first and only Young Filmmakers’ Workshop of its kind in West Virginia. The Daniel A. Ryan Memorial Scholarship is new this year.

For more information about workshops, call Katherine Walsh Ryan at 304.283.8878, Email kwr@ryanfilminstitute.org or check www.RyanFilmInstitute.org.