homepage logo

County Commission changes meeting schedule

By Staff | Oct 5, 2012

At the Sept. 27 meeting of the Jefferson County Commission, the governing body voted 3-2 to change their weekly meeting schedule. Commissioners Patsy Noland, Dale Manuel and Walt Pellish voted to begin holding commission meetings only on the first and third Thursday of each month rather than every Thursday. Manuel suggested that this new schedule would allow commissioners to schedule longer discussion periods with certain individuals or groups who need more than the typical 15-minute time slot given on a regular agenda.

Commissioners Frances Morgan and Lyn Widmyer voted against the move indicating that the Thursday schedules allow the public to have access to the commission.

The new schedule begins with the first meeting in December.