homepage logo

Shepherdstown residents among those honored at Chamber banquet

By Staff | Oct 19, 2012

Nick Agnew receives a certificate of appreciation from Chamber president Pat Hubbard.

The 12th annual Public Service Recognition Banquet sponsored by the Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce saw several Shepherdstown public servants honored for their service.

The dinner, held each year, allows local fire, rescue and police entities to select and honor one of their own. Recipient categories included Outstanding Career Emergency Medical Services Provider, Outstanding Fire Services Provider, Outstanding Volunteer EMS Provider, Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer and Outstanding Emergency Communications Dispatcher.

Selected as the career volunteer by the Jefferson County Emergency Services Agency was Shepherdstown’s Robert Burner. Assistant Director Ed Hannon presented Burner with his award, citing many reasons why Burner was selected for the honor including his dedication to service.

Also receiving recognition for their service to the Shepherdstown community and the county as a whole when necessary, were EMS provider Nick Agnew with Shepherdstown Fire Department. Monte Conner presented Agnew with his award and shared with the audience about how far Agnew has come since joining the department.

“He has worked really hard to accomplish what he has and I am so proud of him” Conner said.

Also recognized from the Shepherdstown Fire Department for service on the fire side, was Jim “Gator” Locke. Chief Ross Morgan told of Locke’s many years of service to the department in all areas from running calls to serving at bingo and doing whatever else needs doing.

Police Chief David Ransom selected Patrolman Matthew Harper as the recipient of the outstanding officer award. Ransom touted Harper’s superior service to the community as well as his service on multiple task forces.

Other honorees from throughout the county included Gary Viands, EMT, Blue Ridge Fire Company, Keith Kain, EMT, Friendship Fire Company, Richard Cluff, Paramedic, Independent Fire Company; fire services winners, Joshua Smith, Bakerton, Earl Cogle, Jr., Blue Ridge, John Considine, Citizens Fire Company, Keith Kain, Jr., Friendship, William Scott McDonald, Jr., Independnent and Brenda Chamblin, Middleway Volunteer Fire Company. Other law enforcement officers recognized were Det. Alissa Meeks, Charles Town, William Henderson, Ranson, Scott Demory, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Department and Trooper 1st Class Joseph E. Williams, WV State Police. Emergency Communications Dispatcher Joseph Anthony “Tony” Cambardella was also honored.

The event was presented by the Chamber, along with business sponsor, Skinner Law Firm. It was held in the Skyline Ballroom at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. Several businesses in the area donated door prizes which were randomly awarded to the unsung heroes in attendance.