homepage logo

Early voting continues through Saturday; Election Day Nov. 6

By Staff | Nov 2, 2012

Early Voting for the 2012 General Election will continue until 5 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3.

Election Day is Nov. 6 where polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Early Voting is a popular option for West Virginians. In the 2008 General Election, more than 153,000 people voted during the Early Voting period. Jefferson County has had a good turnout of early voters so far, according to reports issued daily from the courthouse. Despite a day lost to Hurricane Sandy, the voters have elected to vote early according to their schedule.

Voters face a full ballot of candidates from the President of the United States to magistrate for the county court system. Choices for each office are as follows:

President: Democrat Barak Obama, Republican Mitt Romney, Libertarian Gary Johnson, Non-Partisan Randall Terry and Mountain Party Jill Stein. Also on the ballot are candidates for U.S. Senate including incumbent Joe Manchin, III (Dem.), John Raese (Rep.) and Mountain Party candidate Bob Henry Baber. U.S. House of Representatives incumbent Shelley Moore Capito (Rep.) is challendged by Democrat Howard Swint.

The top state office of Governor is sought by incumbent Democrat Earl Ray Tomblin and challengers Bill Maloney (Rep.), Jesse Johnson (Mtn.) and David Moran (Lib.). Other state offices include Secretary of State where Democrat Natalie Tennant hopes to keep her office out of the hands of Republican challenger Brian Savilla. Glen B. Gainer, III (Dem.) hopes to keep his Auditor position as he faces Rep. Larry V. Faircloth. John Perdue (Dem.) hopes to remain treasurer for the state as he faces opposition from Mike Hall (Rep.)

The office of Commissioner of Agriculture posts Dem. Walt Helmick against Rep. Kent Leonhardt while longtime Attorney General Darrell McGraw, Jr. faces opponent Patrick Morrissey, a Republican from the Eastern Panhandle.

Two Supreme Court Justice spots need to be filled. Candidates for those spots include two Republicans, Allen Loughry and John Yoder as well as Democrats Letitia Chafin and Robin Jean Davis.

On a more local level, Jefferson County voters need to select a State Senator for the 16th District from incumbent Herb Snyder (Dem.) or challenger Jim Ruland (Rep.). Three House of Delegate seats are up for grabs spread into three districts. The 65th District has incumbent Tiffany Lawrence (Dem.) facing Jill Upson (Rep.) while the newly created 66th District sees Dem. John Maxey challenge Rep. Paul Espinosa. The 67th District, vacated by outgoing long-time Delegate John Doyle has Rep. Elliot Simon challenging Dem. Stephen Skinner.

In addition to these seats, voters must also choose a county commissioner between incumbent Frances Morgan (Dem.) and challenger Jane Tabb (Rep.) who had previously served on the commission. Sheriff choices include incumbent Bobby Shirley (Dem.) challenged by Rep. Earl Ballenger. Prosecuting Attorney Ralph Lorenzetti (Dem.) faces no opposition on the ballot while Assessor Angela Banks (Dem.) works to maintain her office from challenger Gary Dungan, Republican candidate. The final choices on the ballot for local voters is to choose three magistrates to serve in Charles Town. The choices for the office include three Democratic incumbents, Bill Senseny, Gail Boober and Mary Paul Rissler facing the challenge from two Republicans, Bill Arnicar and Peter Onoszko.

Jefferson County has 13,446 Democrats, 10,316 Republicans, 81 Mountain Party, 10,897 registered as Independent (no party affiliation) and 834 representing other parties for a total of 35,574 registered voters. Nearly 3,000 of these registered voters had exercised their right to vote early at the close of business Monday.