homepage logo

Shepherd’s Foundation announces Berkeley Community Pride’s annual environmental scholarship

By Staff | Nov 30, 2012

The Shepherd University Foundation is pleased to announce that Berkeley Community Pride, Inc., has awarded its annual scholarship for Eastern Panhandle students who major in environmental studies, maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5, and participate in community and/or campus service. Senior Trey Knepper of Hedgesville and senior Jared Tomlin of Martinsburg are the 2012-13 recipients of the award.

The Berkeley Community Pride Scholarship was established in May 2009. The civic-minded organization was founded more than six years ago to reduce litter, encourage community-wide recycling, and educate area youth on the importance of responsible use of resources.

Spokesperson Melanie Files said that education is a primary focal point in the overall mission of Berkeley Community Pride. “Do something you love and share your knowledge of it with others whenever you get the chance,” Files said to Knepper and Tomlin, before adding, “and teach folks to recycle.”

Several students in Shepherd’s environmental studies program compete for the Berkeley Community Pride Scholarship each year. The application process includes a written essay in which students discuss their choice of community service in addition to how the award will benefit them.

Both recipients are grateful to Berkeley Community Pride for their award. “As a husband, student, father of three and aspiring community leader, all assistance is greatly appreciated,” said Tomlin. “I’m happy to participate in projects that promote a sustainable and efficient future.”

To learn how to contribute to the Berkeley Community Pride Scholarship or to establish your own named fund through the Shepherd University Foundation, contact Monica Lingenfelter, Shepherd University Foundation, P.O. Box 5000, Shepherdstown, WV, 25443-5000, 304-876-5397, mlingenf@shepherd.edu. Visit the Foundation on the web at www.shepherd.edu/fndtnweb and www.facebook.com/ShepherdUniversityFoundation.