homepage logo

Jefferson County residents named McMurran Scholars

By Staff | May 10, 2013

Four Jefferson County residents were among 16 Shepherd University students named McMurran Scholars, the university’s highest academic honor. An academic convocation was held on Friday, April 19 to honor the new McMurran inductees.

Residents included Sarah Jean Joy, Rippon; Bethany Rose Knight, Charles Town; Marianne Virginia Davis, Shepherdstown; and Ashley Laspina-Carriger, Charles Town.

McMurran Scholars must complete a minimum of 92 semester hours, maintain at least a 3.8 grade point average, complete two consecutive semesters of study at Shepherd, and be nominated by at least three faculty members. Nominees must then be approved by the faculty at large. The award was created in 1961 in honor of Joseph McMurran, Shepherd’s first principal.