homepage logo

Outstanding conservationist honored during picnic

By Staff | Jun 28, 2013

Kearneysville resident Jim McGowen was honored for his outstanding conservation work during the Pack Horse Ford Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) annual picnic on June 4, 2013, held at St. James Lutheran Church pavilion. Hostesses and their husbands included Dorrene and Don Hale, Darla and Larry Ambrose, and Mary and Ed Gageby. The blessing for the meal was delivered by Barbara Nickell. The tables were decorated with fresh flowers in blue mason jars as over sixty-five members and guests gathered to enjoy fried chicken, homemade sides, and delectable desserts.

The guest speaker for the picnic was Jim McGowen, who spoke on organic gardening and recycling. After his presentation, First Vice Regent Kathy Sholl, Conservation Committee Chairman Penny Hoeflinger, and WVDAR Conservation Committee Chairman Margaret Writt presented the DAR Conservation Award to him. As the long-time Chairman of the Jefferson County Solid Waste Authority, McGowen has worked many hours promoting the recycling center in Jefferson County and has been able to receive grants to move the operation forward. His passion for protecting and preserving the land through conservation efforts has made a huge impact for the betterment of the citizens of Jefferson County.

The Chapter’s meeting was called to order by First Vice Regent Kathy Sholl. On behalf of the President of the Berkeley County Historical Society (BCHS) Todd Funkhouser, Katherine Genung delivered a thank you. He expressed his gratitude to the Chapter for sponsoring a successful application for a DAR Special Projects grant. Through the efforts of Dorrene Hale, Katherine Genung, Cheryl Brown, and Cheryl Rodgers, the BCHS was able to purchase a digital microfilm machine from the grant of $5,212 plus matching BCHS and Berkeley County Historic Landmarks Commission funds.

The swearing in of new officers for 2013-2016 was led by Honorary State Regent Jean Elliott. In July, the newly elected officers will take their positions as follows: Cheryl Brown, regent; Patricia Toffling, first vice regent; Patty Stealey, second vice regent; Mary Wood, chaplain; Cheryl Rodgers, recording secretary; Polly Wharton, corresponding secretary; Katherine Genung, treasurer; Dorrene Hale, registrar; Cindy Nicewarner, historian; and Kathy Sholl, librarian. The newly elected Board members will meet in July to plan for the upcoming fiscal year. Outgoing officers Mary Davis, Joan Moler, Megen Showe and Margaret Writt were recognized for their outstanding service.

Team Captain Polly Wharton reminded the DAR Daughters Team that the Jefferson County Relay for Life will be held on Saturday, June 22 at the Charles Town Middle School. The team has raised over $2,500 towards the fight against cancer.

To learn more about the work of today’s DAR, visit www.DAR.org.