homepage logo

Shepherdstown Rotary Club announces Four Paul Harris Awards

By Staff | Aug 23, 2013

The Rotary Club of Shepherdstown WV recently announced four Paul Harris Awards. The Paul Harris Award is the Shepherdstown Rotary Club’s highest award. It is named for the individual who founded Rotary International in 1905, Paul Percy Harris (1868-1947).

The Shepherdstown Club periodically bestows this award on Club and community members who exemplify the Rotary motto of “Service Above Self.” The Club makes a $1,000 contribution from its own funds to the International Rotary organization’s charitable foundation on each awardee’s behalf.

The recent awardees are:

Dr. Suzanne Shipley. Dr. Shipley has been President of Shepherd University since June, 2007. Under her leadership, the University is implementing a strategic plan that is positioning Shepherd as a premier public liberal arts university. She has also put a premium on maintaining a good working relationship between the University and the town of Shepherdstown. At the state level, she chairs the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission’s Council of Presidents and has led a statewide initiative in adult learning. She has been a member of the Shepherdstown Rotary Club since 2008.

Meredith Wait. A small business owner in Shepherdstown for 26 years, Wait has been has been President of the Shepherdstown Business Association since 2007. She was previously President from 1990-1992. From 2010 through 2012, she chaired the committee that planned and executed Shepherdstown’s 250th Anniversary celebration.

Howard Mills. Mills moved to Shepherdstown in 2000 after retiring as Chairman of the Board of the Maplehurst Companies, an Indiana firm that manufactured and distributed dairy and bakery products. In Shepherdstown, he has been engaged in many community activities. He served on the Shepherdstown Town Council from 2002 to 2010, and was President of the Gateway New Economy Council. Currently, he Vice President of the Jefferson County Development Authority and Treasurer of The Station at Shepherdstown. He is a Rotarian.

Dr. Brian Erickson. A chiropractor, Dr. Erickson operates the Jefferson Chiropractic Center, Inc., in Shepherdstown. He joined the Shepherdstown Rotary Club in 2006, shortly after moving his practice to the town. He has been very active in the Club since that time, serving as chair of its Vocational Service Committee, then Vice President, and then President from July 2011 to June 2012.