homepage logo

Shepherd music students recognized at Rotary Club

By Staff | May 5, 2014

Shepherd University Department of Music Chair Robert Tudor attended a recent breakfast of the Shepherdstown Rotary Club to introduce four of this year’s SU “Friends of Music Fellowship” winners.

The annual Fellowship awards provide $1,000 scholarships to talented music majors who demonstrate the highest standards of music excellence.

Ten such scholarships were awarded this year. The awardees who were introduced at the breakfast were: Alvaro Silva, Kristin Monroe, Nathan Arch, and Dakota Slay-Vincent.

These awards are made possible by the fundraising activities of University’s Friends of Music, a nonprofit group that helps support music programs and music education at Shepherd.

The group’s annual Tuxedo Junction Gala fundraiser, which this year is entitled the “FOM Prom,” will be held the evening of May 9 at Shepherdstown’s Bavarian Inn. Tickets, which are $100 each, are available on the Friends group website at www.sufom.org or by calling 304-876-5765.