homepage logo

National Merit scholarship winners announced

By Staff | May 30, 2014

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced this year’s National Merit $2,500 scholarship winners. Included in the list was Malika J. Briggs, of Shepherdstown, who attends Jefferson High School. Briggs hopes to pursue a career in education.

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2014 National merit Scholarship program.

National Merit winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including the difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.