homepage logo

Mid-term elections this Tuesday

By Staff | Oct 31, 2014

Jefferson County residents are encouraged to head out to the polls on Tuesday to take part in the election process. The mid-term election allows voters to select candidates for national and local positions.

Early voting has been underway and, according to Nikki Painter, chief clerk in charge of elections with the Jefferson County Clerk’s office, 1,940 of the county’s 33,000 registered voters have come out so far. The tally came in Wednesday morning with 808 Democrats, 717 Republicans, 1 Mountain, 3 Libertarians and 141 Other (Independent or no party affiliation) designated voters casting their ballots.

Early voting continues through Saturday, Nov. 1 with hours from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Jefferson County Courthouse.

Offices up for grabs include a U.S. Senate seat where Republican Shelley Moore Capito and Democrat Natalie Tennant have been battling throughout the state. Also on the ballot for that position are John S. Buckley, Libertarian, Bob Henry Bager, Mountain Party and Phil Hudok, Constitution Party.

The U.S. House of Representatives seat formerly held by Capito is being sought by Repubkician Alex Mooney, Democrat Nick Casey, Libertarian Davy Jones and Independent Ed Rabel.

State Senator John Unger (Dem) faces opposition in maintaining his seat from Larry V. Faircloth, Republican.

House of Delegate seats in Jefferson County’s three districts are also on the ballot for this election. In the 65tth District, which encompasses much of Charles Town, incumbent Tiffany Lawrence (Dem.) is battling Republican challenger Jill Upson while in the 67th District representing Harpers Ferry and Shepherdstown, Democrat Stephen Skinner is looking to maintain his seat despite a challenge by Republican Patricia Rucker. The third district in the county, the 68th, has incumbent Paul Espinosa facing off against Daniel Lutz of the Mountain Party. Only voters in the specific districts may cast a vote for their Delegates.

Sheriff Pete Dougherty, (Dem.) hopes to hold his elected office despite the challenge by Stephen Sowers, Sr., a member of the Republican party.

County Commissioner Patsy Noland (Dem.) faces no opposition to keep her seat in the Kabletown District while the seat currently held by Commissioner Lyn Widmyer, who chose not to run again, is being sought by Republican Eric Bell and Democrat Ronda Lehman in the Harpers Ferry District. Unlike state delegates, all voters in the county may weigh in on the County Commission positions.

The position of Circuit Judge in the 23rd Judicial Circuit currently held by incumbent Michael Lorensen is also on the ballot. Lorensen faces no opposition.

A constitutional amendment is also on the ballot where voters need to be for or against Nonprofit youth organization tax exemption support.

Polling places open on Tuesday, Nov. 4 at 6:30 a.m. and remain open until 7:30 p.m. that evening.