homepage logo

Teachers, students recognized by Board of Ed

By Staff | Mar 27, 2015

The Jefferson County Board of Education (BOE) recognized staff members and students who have made stellar contributions to the county’s schools during their board meeting Monday, March 23.

“Our first round of board recognitions was a success,” said Alan Sturm, interim superintendent of Jefferson County Schools. “It’s great to celebrate these achievements, and I’m looking forward to recognizing an entire department this month.”

At the meeting, the BOE presented two teachers, five students and the Jefferson County Schools technology department with certificates of honorable achievement.

Kristin Friend, vocational agriculture teacher and FFA advisor at Charles Town Middle School, will be recognized for her recently earned national certification in vocational agriculture. Friend is now one of only two agriculture educators in West Virginia who have achieved National Board Certification, the highest mark of professional accomplishment in the teaching profession.

“Kristin has always worked hard to emphasize the importance of agriculture in our community and beyond,” said Timothy Sites, principal of Charles Town Middle School. “This certification only elevates her value in educating our students.”

Carolyn Thomas, a science teacher at Wildwood Middle School, was recognized for her National Board Certification in science for early adolescence.

“I’m so excited a Wildwood Middle student and teacher are being recognized this month,” said Patricia Brockway, principal of Wildwood Middle School. “Carolyn is always going above and beyond to make science memorable for students. I’m glad she will be recognized for her work.”

Five students were recognized for advancing as semifinalists to the State National Geographic Bee. Zoe Bailey from Shepherdstown Elementary, Emily Bradford from Charles Town Middle, Ethan Fisher from C.W. Shipley Elementary, Quinlan Keyes from Harpers Ferry Middle, and John Sudduth from Wildwood Middle School will travel to the state competition.

Each student was required to complete a written test to qualify for the 2015 West Virginia National Geographic Bee at Concord University in Athens, West Virginia, on March 27. During the event, students will compete against other fourth through eighth-grade students from across the state.

Members of the Jefferson County Schools technology department, consisting of Todd Chicchirichi, Lisa Geist, Paul Hercules, Adam Kercheval, Rico Massimino, Pam Mauck, Brent Smoot, Jim Watkins, Phil Wilbanks and Sheila Young will be recognized for their innovative efforts within the school system. Paul Hercules, director of supportive services will accept the certificate on the technology department’s behalf. Most recently, the department encouraged all members of the school system to participate in Digital Learning Day, a nationwide celebration that showcases teaching practices, innovative teachers and instructional technology programs that improve student outcomes.

“The Technology Department is a talented group of elite individuals who are compassionate about their work and are extremely helpful to the educators and students of Jefferson County,” said Rachel Potts, first grade teacher at North Jefferson Elementary.