homepage logo

Eighteen Jefferson County residents named to Shepherd’s Phi Kappa Phi honor society

By Staff | Apr 20, 2015

Eighteen Jefferson County residents have been named to Shepherd University’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi honor society.

Charles Town residents include Mahaley Beaty, Charlotte L. Bellotte, Keani M. Chinn, Katelyn Mumaw, Stephanie Santella and Skylar M. White.

Harpers Ferry residents include Morgan L. Carper, Elizabeth J. Conant, Joy Christine Johnstone, Jennifer Ann Opseth and Christiana Beaulieu.

Other Jefferson County residents include Michael L. Rouse and Hannah Beale, Kearneysville; Megan C. Saenz, Ranson; Markee Smith, Shenandoah Junction; Lindsey Bent and Kenneth A. Goldsborough, Shepherdstown; and Jade M. Weaver, Rippon.

Membership selection to Phi Kappa Phi is based upon academic achievement and exemplary character. Those eligible for membership are second semester juniors in the upper five percent of their class and the upper 10 percent of seniors.

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 and has chapters at more than 300 colleges and universities in the United States, the Philippines and Puerto Rico. It is the oldest and most selective honor society dedicated to the recognition and promotion of academic excellence within all fields of higher education.