homepage logo

Shepherd honors outstanding students during recognition ceremony

By Staff | May 1, 2015

During Shepherd University’s 67th Annual Student Recognition Day, which took place April 21 at the Frank Center auditorium, 185 students received awards and scholarships.

Two senior students received the Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry Award for Human Service, which included a $250 cash award and is given each year to one male and one female who show “exemplary human service to Shepherd as evidenced by campus leadership, community service, and overall achievement.” Ikenberry served as Shepherd’s president for 21 years, from 1947-1968, and the administration building, Ikenberry Hall, is named in his honor.

Ikenberry’s daughters and Shepherd alumnae, Margaret Elizabeth (Betty) Wade and Dr. Jane Ikenberry-Dorrier presented LaShawn Tolson, an English major from Washington, D.C., and Thomas Jones, an environmental science major from Towson, Maryland, with the award.

Siriki Diabate, an M.B.A. student living in Shepherdstown who is originally from Ivory Coast, received the Lowe Family Award, which honors students for high academic achievement and outstanding service to the university. A tree will be planted on Shepherd’s campus in honor of Diabate. Shepherd alumnus Ken Lowe of Shepherdstown presented the award.