homepage logo

CATF announces its 2015 artist company

By Staff | Jun 19, 2015

The Contemporary American Theater Festival at Shepherd University (CATF) has announced its company for the 2015 season. The accomplished group of actors, apprentices, designers, and directors will arrive in Shepherdstown at the beginning of June to begin the four-week rehearsal process for the season’s five new plays: World Builders by Johnna Adams (world premiere), On Clover Road by Steven Dietz (world premiere), WE ARE PUSSY RIOT by Barbara Hammond (world premiere), The Full Catastrophe by Michael Weller (world premiere), and Everything You Touch by Sheila Callaghan (second production).

The core acting company consists of 17 performers [all members of Actors Equity Association and working under a League of Regional Theaters (LORT) contract] and includes Helen Anker, Molly Carden, Tom Coiner, Cary Donaldson, Jerzy Gwiazdowski, Tasha Lawrence, Libby Matthews, Marianna McClellan, Sarah Nealis, Brenna Palughi, T. Ryder Smith, Lee Sellers, Katya Stepanov, Dina Thomas, Mark Thomas, Chris Thorn, and Liba Vaynberg. Coiner, Donaldson, Matthews, Nealis, Ryder Smith, Sellers, Stepanov, and Vaynberg will be appearing in two plays in repertory. Cary Donaldson and T. Ryder Smith will be returning for their second season; Lee Sellers, for his tenth.

Casting for the 2015 season was conducted by Pat McCorkle, C.S.A.

Additionally, there are four acting apprentices from the University of Iowa: Molly Brown, Allyson Malandra, Keyla McClure, and Adam Phillips. The cast is rounded out by Sam Shunney and Adam Venham-Carter, two local actors who will stagger their appearances.

Directing this seasons plays will be CATF Producing Director Ed Herendeen (The Full Catastrophe and On Clover Road), Nicole A. Watson (World Builders), May Adrales (Everything You Touch), and Tea Alagic(WE ARE PUSSY RIOT).

The designers for the season are David M. Barber, Robert Klingelhoefer, and Peter Ksander (scenery); Trevor Bowen, Therese Bruck, Peggy McKowen (CATFs Associate Producing Director) and Stephanie Shaw (costumes); John Ambrosone, Tony Galaska, and D.M. Wood (lighting); Arshan Gailus, Elisheba Ittoop, and David Remedios (sound); and Shawn Duan and Matthew Haber (video/projection).

CATF will present its 25th season July 10 Aug. 2. In addition to the five plays in rotating repertory, the Festival will feature stage readings, a lecture series, workshops and classes, art exhibitions, and audience/artist engagement activities. Complete information along with ticket options available via www.catf.org or by calling 800/999-CATF. Social media connections (#catf) can be made at twitter.com/thinktheater and facebook.com/CATFatSU.