homepage logo

Jefferson County recertifying as a StormReady Community

By Staff | Jan 15, 2016

Jefferson County has been a designated StormReady Community since 2004. StormReady is a program

through the National Weather Service. To be designated, a community must participate in activities including communications, National Weather Service information reception, hydro meteorological monitoring, local warning dissemination, community preparedness and administration.

To finalize the StormReady recertification for 2016, the JCHSEM Director and Deputy Director will visit the National Weather Service office in Sterling on January 11th, the County’s 9-1-1 dispatchers will complete training and pass a test on weather and Jefferson County Schools have certified that they continue to maintain NOAA weather radios that are monitored at each school. Additionally, JCHSEM will sponsor a Winter Storm Skywarn Storm Spotter Class on Jan. 28.