homepage logo

Residents named McMurran Scholars

By Staff | May 6, 2016

Thirty-two Shepherd University students were named McMurran Scholars, the university’s highest academic honor, during the 55th McMurran Scholar Convocation held April 22 at the Frank Center Theater.

McMurran Scholars must complete a minimum of 92 semester hours, maintain a minimum 3.86 grade point average, complete two consecutive semesters of study at Shepherd, and be nominated by at least three faculty members. Nominees must then be approved by the entire Shepherd University faculty.

The McMurran Scholar award, established in 1961, is named in honor of Joseph McMurran who served as the first principal when Shepherd was established in 1871 until 1882.

Named this year and securing the honor from Jefferson County were the following:

Charles Town:

Skylar White


Margaret Langland

Michael Rouse

Joseph Wickline


Jade Weaver

Shenandoah Junction:

Stephanie Deal


Lindsey Bent

Chelsea McCormick