homepage logo

CATF announces 2016 Company

By Staff | Jun 10, 2016

The Contemporary American Theater Festival at Shepherd University (CATF) has announced its 130-member company for the 2016 season-its largest to date. The accomplished group of artists, support staff and crew has assembled in Shepherdstown to begin the four-week rehearsal process for the season’s five new plays: pen/man/ship by Christina Anderson (second production), Not Medea by Allison Gregory (an NNPN Rolling World Premiere), The Wedding Gift by Chisa Hutchinson (world premiere), 20th Century Blues by Susan Miller (world premiere) and The Second Girl by Ronan Noone (second production).

The core acting company consists of 18 performers, most of whom are members of Actors’ Equity Association working under a League of Regional Theaters contract, and includes Betsy Aidem, Jason Babinsky, Rachael Balcanoff, Ben Chase, Brian D. Coats, Franchelle Stewart Dorn, Kathryn Grody, Margaret Ivey, Ted Koch, Nafeesa Monroe, Alexandra Neil, Edward O’Blenis, Joey Parsons, Carolyn Michelle Smith, Mary Suib, Damian Thompson, Cathryn Wake and Jessica Wortham. Babinsky, Coats, Ivey, O’Blenis and Thompson will be appearing in two plays in repertory. Jason Babinsky is returning for his second season; Joey Parsons, for her third. Casting for the 2016 season was conducted by Pat McCorkle, C.S.A.

Additionally, five students from Virginia Commonwealth University (Mikayla Bartholomew, Tyler John Fauntleroy, Ariane Ireland, Ciara Monique McMillian and Vincent Ramirez) will serve as ensemble and/or understudies. The ensemble also includes Shepherd University’s Tre’ Henley.

Directing this season’s plays will be CATF’s Producing Director Ed Herendeen (The Second Girl and 20th Century Blues), Courtney Sale (Not Medea), May Adrales (The Wedding Gift) and Lucie Tiberghien (pen/man/ship). The designers for the season are David M. Barber, Jesse Dreikosen and Kris Stone (scenery); Trevor Bowen, Therese Bruck, and CATF’s Associate Producing Director, Peggy McKowen (costumes); John Ambrosone, Tony Galaska and D.M. Wood (lighting); plus Toy Deiorio, David Remedios and Nathan Roberts (sound).

CATF will present its 26th season July 8-31. In addition to the five plays in rotating repertory, the Festival will feature stage readings, a lecture series, workshops and classes, art exhibitions, films and audience/artist engagement activities. Complete information along with ticket options available via www.catf.org or by calling 800/999-CATF.