homepage logo

Election will be a cinch

By Staff | Jun 1, 2012

Residents of Shepherdstown head to the polls on Tuesday, June 5 to select their mayor, town recorder and five council members to lead the town for the next two years. That selection is made easy this election cycle as there are only enough candidates to fill the seats.

Current Mayor Jim Auxer seeks an additional term and faces no opposition in the election. The same is true of current recorder Lori Robertson.

Incumbents on the council include David Springer, Bane Schill, Wanda Grantham Smith and David Rosen. Each of these members currently serve on the City Council. They have been joined on the ballot by Karene Motivans who hopes to round out the council.

Not seeking re-election was Josh Stella.

According to Town Clerk Amy Boyd, Shepherdstown has approximately 820 registered voters; however, the turnout for municipal elections never runs that high. Boyd shared that a “good” election averages about 220 turning out to cast their vote.

Early voting for the election began May 14 and runs through Saturday, June 2. Hours for early voting are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Town Hall. Boyd said Wednesday that there has been only one early vote cast.

The polling place for the election is Town Hall with an opening time of 6:30 a.m. The polls close at 7:30 p.m. and results will be posted following a count of the votes.

Boyd said, “Town Hall will be closed for all business on election day other than the election itself.” Anyone needing to conduct business at the Town are reminded that they should do so either on Monday or later in the week.

Cavanssing of the election and a declaration of results will take place on June 11 with a certification of the results on June 13.