homepage logo

Thanks to all for successful event

By Staff | Jun 15, 2012

Shepherdstown was honored last month with a visit by the nation’s most eminent journalist and newscaster, Jim Lehrer. The town reciprocated with an enthusiastic welcome, making the day a memorable one as part of our Shepherdstown250 Celebration. Many people contributed to making both the tea and the lecture proceed flawlessly. I want to thank Meredith Wait, Shelli Dronsfield and Elise Baach of the S250 Committee for their support and help. I especially appreciated Lisa Welch of the Scarborough Society who arranged for the use of Reynolds Hall and McMurran Hall’s Shepherd Room, as well as Monica Lingenfelter and Kristen Alexander of the Shepherd University Foundation who aided us in preparing Reynolds Hall for the evening address, and Mona Kissell of the University’s Office of Advancement who did the same for the Shepherd Room.

Jane and Larry Blash and Winnie McGarty of the Friends of Shepherdstown Library served as ticket takers, while Agnes Freud designed our graphics. Marc Briod transported plants for the stage– plants that were contributed by Lowe’s in Martinsburg. Thanks to all of them and to the Bavarian Inn which hosted Mr. Lehrer’s dinner. Thanks to the Shepherdstown Public Library, the Four Seasons Bookstore and Dickinson and Wait Craft Gallery for promoting the event and selling tickets, and to Mayor Jim Auxer for welcoming Mr. Lehrer to the town.

Finally I want to thank the tea committee consisting of Suzy Yates, Wendy Mopsik, Marie DeWalt, May Stanley and Mina Goodrich for preparing the lovely tea, and all the book club contact persons who made sure their members knew about the events and were responsible for the outstanding attendance at both. The contacts were: Sandy Bloom, Helen Burns, Marie DeWalt, Sandy D’Onofrio, Vernell Doyle, Karin Field-Smith, Marcella Genz, Mina Goodrich, Mary Ann Hamman, Elaine Hurd, Wendy Mopsik, Joyce Pardue, Michael Raubertis, Bonnie Sitman, Mary Stanley, Sara Drennan, Laura Turman, Suzy Yates and the librarians of the local libraries.

Edwinna Bernat