homepage logo

Minnich named All American

By Staff | Jun 1, 2012

MARSHALL, Minn. — Senior first baseman Nathan Minnich from Shepherd University (W.Va.) and junior pitcher Carl O’Neal from St. Mary’s University (Texas) headline the 2012 Daktronics, Inc., NCAA Division II All-America baseball team, earning the Ron Lenz Player and Pitcher of the Year awards respectively. A total of 45 student-athletes, representing 37 institutions were named to either the first, second or third team All-America squad, while 18 were named honorable mention.

Members of the NCAA Division II College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) selected the All-America teams. The All-America team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. Daktronics has sponsored the baseball All-America program since 2007.

Minnich finished the season batting .487 (74 for 152) with 21 home runs, 12 doubles and 72 RBIs, while racking up a .980 slugging percentage. As of May 24, he leads the country in slugging percentage, on-base percentage, walks per game and RBIs. He also ranks second in batting average and home runs, while ranking third in runs scored per game. He was a 2011 first team Daktronics All-America honoree at designated hitter.

O’Neal has compiled a 13-0 record with a 2.27 ERA in 95 innings in helping lead St. Mary’s to 2012 NCAA Division II Baseball Championships. He has appeared in 16 games making 15 starts with seven complete games and recording five shutouts. O’Neal has recorded 93 strikeouts, while limiting opponents to hit just .196. As of May 24, he ranks tied for first in the country in victories.

Joining Minnich and O’Neal on the All-America first team include: Geno Escalante (C, Mount Olive), Joe Wendle (2B, West Chester), Bryan Lippincott (3B, Concordia-St. Paul), Blake Miller (SS, Western Oregone), Antony Boza (DH, Lynn), Cody Coffman (UT, Tusculum), Casey Allison (OF, Wingate), Ryan Busboom (OF, Fort Hays State), Jeff Popick (OF, Colorado Mesa), Tim Flight (SP, Southern New Hampshire), Geoff Broussard (SP, Cal Poly Pomona), Grady Wood (SP, Western Oregon) and Stephen Johnson (RP, St. Edward’s).