homepage logo

Cougars run to EPAC titles

By Staff | Oct 24, 2016

With its top five runners — Nick Whitehair, Mason Young, Colin Hayes, Nathan Starkey and Asher Personett — all finishing no lower than 10th place in the Eastern Panhandle Athletic Conference (EPAC) meet, the Jefferson cross country boys team outdistanced the field of five other schools to win the league’s championship event.

Whitehair won the boys race in a time of 17:47 with Young finishing third overall in 18:05.

Musselman was the runner-up team with Spring Mills following in third place. Hedgesville, Washington and Martinsburg finished out the order of teams.

The Jefferson girls team also won their division of the event.

Although Hedgesville’s Jesse Hogbin won the girls race, Jefferson had Morgan May (second), Vanessa Pratt (fourth), Genevieve Sturrock (fifth), Jordan Phillips (seventh) and Grace Valentine (ninth overall) finish high enough to give the Cougars the team victory.

Hogbin had a meet-winning time of 21:03 with May being timed in 21:32 and Pratt in 22:01.

Musselman was second in the team standings, followed by Hedgesville and Spring Mills.

Martinsburg and Washington failed to field complete teams and had no team score.