homepage logo

Class AAA all-state football selections revealed

By Staff | Dec 20, 2019

MARTINSBURG — With 56 straight wins and four consecutive Class AAA football state championships reaped, Martinsburg was justly represented on the all-state teams, which have been recently named.

The Bulldogs averaged over 61 points a game and won all 14 games in the 2019 season by at least 28 points. In their first three games in the recently completed playoffs, the Bulldogs scored 84, 70 and 77 points.

The all-state, first-team offense had four Martinsburg players listed including place kicker Chris Catlett, utility player Elijah Banks, wide receiver Jarod Bowie and lineman Ty Lucas.

On the all-state, first-team defense were Bulldog linebacker Trey Sine, defensive back Teddy Marshall and lineman Matt Bednarski.

The remainder of the first-team offense had linemen Wyatt Milum (Spring Valley), Jackson Oxley (Cabell Midland), and Terrance Pankey (Woodrow Wilson).

Wide receiver Dylan Day (Parkersburg South), quarterback Alex Dunlevy (Wheeling Park), running backs Caden Easterling (Riverside), Jakob Caudill (Cabell Midland) and Blake Hartman (Musselman) were named as were utility players Chance Knox (Capital) and J.J. Roberts (Cabell Midland).

The first-team defense also had linemen CJ Wade (Parkersburg), Zach McCoy (Cabell Midland, Braxton Amos (Parkersburg South) and Zeiqui Lawton (South Charleston) as well as linebackers Trey Sine (Martinsburg), Brocton Blair (Huntington) and Logan Spurlock (Capital) and secondary players Teddy Marshall (Martinsburg), Kerion Martin (Capital) and David Livingston (Spring Valley) as well as punter Michael Hughes (George Washington). The utility players placed on the first-team defense were Brandon Penn (Parkersburg South), Preston Fox (Morgantown) and Devin Heath (Hedgesville).

Five more Martinsburg players were selected to the all-state, second team. Jefferson High had offensive lineman Corey Shaffer named to the second-team offense.