homepage logo

Shepherd selects football captains

By Staff | Sep 13, 2013

Shepherd University head football coach Monte Cater recently announced the team captains for the 2013 season. Senior running back Mike Haynes (Midlothian, VA/Cloverhill), senior offensive lineman Jordan Dixon (Woodsboro, MD/Walkersville), senior defensive lineman Mike Franklin (Silver Spring, MD/Long Reach) and senior defensive lineman Robert Hayes (Sterling, VA/Park View) have been named team captains.

Haynes rushed for 314 yards and three touchdowns last year. He was also a valuable contributor on special teams.

Dixon garnered Second Team All-WVIAC accolades as he helped anchor the offensive line play.

Franklin was a First Team All-WVIAC choice last year. He had 34 tackles with 8.5 tackles-for-loss and three sacks.

Hayes, who gained Academic All-America honors in 2012, was a First Team All-WVIAC selection last season.He record 30 tackles with nine tackles-for-loss and two sacks.

Shepherd, ranked 25th in the AFCA presason poll, wil host seventh-ranked Shippensburg on Saturday at noon at Ram Stadium.